Board of Directors

HCA, Inc. is a Maine not-for-profit corporation and  has received its 501 (c) (3) designation s as a tax-exempt organization under the Internal Revenue Code. An experienced and accomplished Board of Directors governs HCA. The Board exercises financial and legal authority, elects officers, and establishes committees for direction and oversight, while ensuring that the school has sufficient resources to realize its mission and vision. All Board meetings are open to the public. Community members who would like to address the Board are encouraged to attend the Board meetings or send the matter in writing to Board President Joe Grady at least 48 hours before the regularly scheduled meeting. The Board of Directors meets at 5:00 PM on the  third Wednesday of the month unless otherwise specified.

For approved Meeting Minutes, click on a date below:

Meeting Schedule:


Joe Grady, President

Owner, Two Coves Farm. Formerly humanities teacher at Casco Bay High School; Executive Director at Mount Washington Valley Children’s Museum; Farm Manager and Dean of Students at The Meeting School, Rindge, NH.

Ed Harris, Vice President

Ed is a lifelong educator, having worked as a faculty member, advisor and administrator at UMass Amherst and DePaul University for 30 years. Ed has served on many Boards, most recently the Board of People Plus in Brunswick Maine where he served as Board Chair. He earned his EdD in higher & adult education from UMass Amherst and his AB from Antioch College.

Dave Eldridge, Treasurer

Senior Vice President and Commercial Lending Manager at Androscoggin Bank. Formerly the Director of Finance and Operations at Washington Academy, and Vice President of Commercial Banking at Machias Savings Bank. Dave studied at the National School of Banking and the University of Maine at Machias.

Sharon Whitney, Secretary

Owner, Eartheart Gardens, Harpswell, Maine, specializing in developing iris cultivars. Previously an elementary school teacher; co-founder of Collins Brook School in Pownal, Maine; has devoted 30 years to helping people of varying ages and abilities learn to swim.


Sally Mackenzie

Associate Professor of Educational Leadership, University of Maine. Co-Facilitator of the Maine Principals Association New Principal Mentoring Program. Formerly: instructor and administrator in teacher preparation programs at Bowdoin, Colby, and Bates; Leadership program facilitator and coach (Maine School Leadership Network, Team Development Collaborative); American Studies teacher and Librarian at Freeport High School and English teacher at other Maine High Schools.

Dick Mayo

Retired Navy Vice Admiral with 35 years of service including frigate command, a communications station in Hawaii, US Naval Forces in Korea, and the Navy’s first Network command. Later worked as a senior executive in the Defense Industry. Additional experiences include serving with the Armed Forces Communications Electronic Association’s Educational Foundation Board, serving on the Advisory Board of Mission Readiness, and establishing a local neighborhood Men’s Book Club.

Jeff Slocum

Owner of Slocum Chiropractic “A Creating Wellness Center” in Brunswick, Maine. Harpswell native. Co-creator of Learning Curves ™ and The Legion of Chiropractic Warriors, and the annual Purposeful Connections seminar and the developer of the highly successful personal and professional training company, Advanced Leadership Solutions.

Design Team

HCA, Inc. is grateful to a small group of Harpswell citizens whose visionary thinking formulated the foundation for Harpswell Coastal Academy.

Tom Allen ■ Bob Anderson John D’Anieri Joe Grady Scott Ruppert

Advisory Committee

The HCA Advisory Committee and its members operate under the guidance of HCA’s Board of Directors. Its mission is to build strong community relationships that generate the resources (financial and otherwise) HCA needs to open and operate a public charter school in Harpswell.


Tom AllenJohn Anthony Bart Beattie Elizabeth Bouve Elizabeth Davis Shelly Dean-Shaw Phil Fuller Paul Hickey Sean Kelly Rob Logan Dan McMahon Jennifer Nadeau Tom Ring Rob Roark Amber Skinner